Phillies World Series History – 1980, 2008, And More – A Guide

Phillies World Series appearances had been relatively few, prior to 2008. Until that season, the team – a charter member of the National League - had won just five pennants. They were the last of the original 16 major league baseball teams to win a World Series, finally doing so, in 1980.

However, there have now been Phillies World Series appearances in the last two seasons (2008 and 2009), with the Phillies winning the World Series in 2008. It was the first Phillies World Series championship in 28 years, since 1980. In 2009, the team captured the National League pennant for the second straight season, for the first time in franchise history, before falling to the New York Yankees in six games.

As you can see, this page is still under construction, so please be patient, and check back for more content...

Phillies World Series Championships

2008 – The Phillies Defeat the Tampa Bay Rays, In Five Games, Winning Their Second World Series Ever and First in Nearly Three Decades

1980 – The Phillies Capture Their First Title, Defeating the Kansas City Royals in Six Games

Phillies World Series Appearances

2009 – The Defending World Series Champion Phillies Fall To the New York Yankees in Six Games

If you'd like to leave Phillies World Series History, and return to the Home Page of Enjoying Philadelphia, please click here.

If You Like Our Content, Please Like Us on Facebook!

Sign Up For Free E-mail Updates For Philadelphia Events!

Enter your E-mail Address
Enter your First Name (optional)

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Enjoying Philadelphia - Events and Things To Do In the City and Region.

If You Like Our Content, Please Like Us on Facebook!