October Things to Do in Philadelphia, A Highly Haunted City

This page covers the October things to do in Philadelphia, that are perennial, occurring year after year. If you're interested in specific dates and times for October things to do in Philadelphia in 2010, we'd recommend that you take a look at our much longer and more detailed page on that subject - The Guide to October 2010 Things to Do in Philadelphia - which provides more information, for planning your visit to Philadelphia in October.

RECOMMENDED - Revolutionary War Battle Of Germantown Is Re-Enacted Each Year on the First Weekend in October - Saturday, October 3, 2010

Imagine yourself traveling back in time, from the 21st century, to the 18th century, and being in the midst of the Revolutionary War. You can come closest to experiencing 18th-century warfare (with complete safety, of course!) by attending the annual re-enactment of the Battle of Germantown, at the Cliveden mansion in Germantown.

To learn more about this uniquely Philadelphian event - take a look at our Battle of Germantown Guide - which should have all of the information that you need to enjoy your trip back to October 4, 1777, when the original Battle of Germantown was fought...


Eastern State Peniteniary in Fairmount Stages Its Enormously Popular "Terror Behind the Walls" Haunted House, During Many October Nights

Each autumn in Philadelphia, Eastern State Penitentiary stages its enormously popular Terror Behind the Walls Haunted House - which is consistently rated as among the top haunted houses in America.

We've never directly experienced it, as it's not really our taste in entertainment. But if you're into that sort of thing, you might want to check it out on our complete guide to schedule and ticketing information, linked above. However, exercise discretion, particularly if you have children, as it appears to be pretty intense.

Just click on the links above, for complete information. It will be running nearly every night in October - all Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays, along with selected Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays, as Halloween approaches.

Terror Behind the Walls @ Eastern State Penitentiary In Fairmount will run from 7 PM to midnight, on:

Friday, October 1 - Saturday, October 2 - Sunday, October 3

Friday, October 8 - Saturday, October 9 - Sunday, October 10

After October 10, some weeknights are available as well:

Wednesday, October 13 - Thursday, October 14 - Friday, October 15 - Saturday, October 16 - Sunday, October 17

Wednesday, October 20 - Thursday, October 21 - Friday, October 22 - Saturday, October 23 - Sunday, October 24

Wednesday, October 27 - Thursday, October 28 - Friday, October 29 - Saturday, October 30 - Sunday, October 31 - Halloween


Monday, September 27, 2010 - The Phillies Are Now Officially NL East Division Champions, For the 4th Straight Year!!!

The Philadelphia Phillies are - we are happy to say - now officially the 2010 National League East champions, bringing home the division title, for the fourth consecutive year.

As scoring tickets to see the Phillies, during the postseason at Citizens Bank Park will be pretty tough, we recommend - as the next best thing - going out to watch the games in the area's bars and restaurants. Many good choices can be found in our Guide to Philadelphia Irish Pubs - which has all the information, organized by neighborhood.


If you'd like to leave October Things to Do in Philadelphia, and return to the Home Page of Enjoying Philadelphia, please click here.

If You Like Our Content, Please Like Us on Facebook!

Sign Up For Free E-mail Updates For Philadelphia Events!

Enter your E-mail Address
Enter your First Name (optional)
Then

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Enjoying Philadelphia - Events and Things To Do In the City and Region.


If You Like Our Content, Please Like Us on Facebook!